SYW: Week of January 16, 2017

Share Your World – January 16, 2017

From Cee: This week our questions come from a series of questions that Netdancer’s Musings answered on her post “Getting to Know Me – 50 Questions”.  I grabbed a few of them since they are questions that are fairly quick to answer.

Do you sleep with your closet doors open or closed?

Never took notice, but just last night my husband had me get out of bed to close the closet door because he couldn’t sleep it with it open. I did not know that either.

Do you take the shampoos and conditioner bottles from hotel?

No, not anymore. I used to and my husband used to. He used to travel a lot for work and we had an overabundance of the little things. I donated them to a woman’s shelter and then stopped accumulating them again.

What is your usual bedtime?

Allegedly 10 pm. But it’s really whenever I get tired or if I have insomnia whenever I can force my ADDled brain to calm down and go to sleep.

Do you like to use post-it notes?

All the time.

When was the last time you wrote a letter to someone on paper?

Do thank-you notes count? I used to love letter writing. An old classmate on Facebook said she’d be my pen pal, but she never wrote back. It’s a lost art.

Any phobias?

No diagnosed phobias, but I have a fear of telephones. No really, I do. This is why I used to love letter writing and now email and social media. If I hear a phone ring I tense up. I think it’s partially my ADhD and partially the fact that my father would go on a rage about my older sister using the telephone for hours on end. Once he ripped it out of the wall and smashed it against the wall. Yeah, that could be it.

I also don’t like enclosed spaces or heights. I am working on those. I can actually sit in the middle of a movie theater now as my son likes to do. If it’s a crowded theater then I need my aisle seat. We actually went to a theater this week that had tiered seating. I was getting high anxiety looking down at the screen until the theater went dark.

How tall are you?

5’4, but these days it’s more like 5’3. I lost an inch, it happens. My mother and I used to be the same height and over the years she became shorter than me.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful that we have enough money to buy a new dishwasher after the old one broke. I laugh and call my husband a witch because when he asked if we should replace the old dishwasher I said no, to wait until it dies. The next day it died. He’s a witch, otherwise it’s sabotage.

I am looking forward to the Women’s March on Washington tomorrow. To be truthful, the thought of the crowd is riling my anxiety (it’s a wonder how I was raised in NYC) but I can’t miss something so huge that is happening 4 miles from me. I am planning on meeting with some friends from Baltimore and keeping a low profile, but I intend on being there.

041514-sywbanner.jpg

Leave a Reply

