SYW: 2017 Week 2

Share Your World – January 9, 2017

Some very profound questions this week from Cee. I’m not sure of my answers. I have been terrible with reading other responses and so this week I decided to read the responses on other blogs before writing my own. Now I am more confused, and feel as if my answers may be influenced as there were really some witty and unique answers to Cee’s questions. I will just try to answer off the cuff and not ruminate too much (I am worse than Hamlet with that).

If you lost a bet and had to dye your hair a color of the rainbow for a week, what color would it be?  

No need to dye my hair any color as I am not the betting kind. I did however start dying my hair a couple of years ago because I was bored. I never considered it before because I am against the chemicals, the sitting still, the smells, the money and the upkeep. But my stylist talked me into it with some new chemical-free dyes and she went easy on my virgin hair. But as it is a bit of the expense, I think I am done.

If you could choose one word to focus on for 2017, what would it be?

Action

So much of my life has been passive, spent inside my head with dreams, thoughts, words and indecision. For so many reasons I have stopped myself and been complacent. For so many different reasons, some I haven’t figured out yet, I have been running in place. It’s time to propel myself forward.

What was one thing you learned last year that you added to your life?

I’ve learned that dreams do not always have to come true.  They can be obscure, ethereal, flitting, disguised and commonplace. Dreams are not always static. I learned that Staying-at-home and trying to be a writer is perhaps not the best fit for me. Maybe it is not fear nor doubt that stops me, but just the fact that it does not suit me.

https://momtheobscure.wordpress.com/2012/12/21/procrastinatiin-and-fear-come-to-tea/

Isolating  myself in front of the laptop, being lost in words and thoughts, has only further isolated me and is not helping me with my anxiety or depression. I need to force myself out in the world and I need a routine so I know what I am doing, otherwise my Addled brain spirals off into a vortex.

https://thisobscurelife.wordpress.com/2016/06/29/wellness-wednesdays-ill-ride-this-wave-until-i-come-out-on-the-other-side/

I have learned that I am a horrible boss and my executive functions are quite poor without my hand being forced.  I enjoyed my time at home, but my son is now ten and quite capable of being on his own for a bit. Writing, it seems is more of an avocation than a vocation for me. It is time to take action and propel myself back into the world. 

If life was ‘just a bowl of cherries’… which fruit other than a cherry would you be..?

Avocado, I have no idea why, it just popped up in my head when I read the question.

041514-sywbanner.jpg

One comment

Leave a Reply

