Holiday Cookies 2016

Well, it’s that time of year again. The holiday season. Usually it does bring tidings of joy, but for some reason my little obscure family is just not that enthused this year. Maybe it’s the move. I am still settling in after five months. Maybe it’s because the boy is ten and just generally thinks most things suck and are boring. (sigh)

Well I made a half-hearted attempt at decorating and found I didn’t need most of our decorations as we no longer have a front yard. I also discovered that I gave away things I could have used as I was too lazy to pack all that stuff.

So this year for cookies we kept it simple. I baked a new recipe that was passed on to me from a fb group that had nothing to do with cooking or food. Since we started eating, previously forbidden sugar-added, cereals this year – I decided to make that my theme.

This year’s cookies:

  1. Crispy Brown Sugar Cornflake Cookies
  2. Rice Krispies Treats

So, I wouldn’t be me if I failed to think things through and realize the recipe said Brown sugar and not simply sugar, but I didn’t. Of course, I forgot my list at home yet again, but I found Kellogg’s cereal on sale at Target. That’s the moment that I decided to pick up the Rice Krispies and make the treats as well.

The boy helped me bake up the cookies after dinner on Wednesday night. We made two batches of the cookies: one for us and one to take to the school for the staff cookie & treat share. On another day, we made a gingerbread house. We have not had success with gingerbread houses in the past. This year I just picked up a kit at Target as I was picking up the cereal while I was in Target spending more money than I had intended, as is usually the case when I enter that store.

We had fun eating all the candy and icing – er assembling – the gingerbread house. The boy wants to eat it all but I told him he had to wait for Christmas. And funny thing, dark brown sugar is needed to make Crispy Brown Sugar Cornflake Cookies. How was I supposed to know when I just read the notice on Tuesday afternoon that the cookies need to be donated on Thursday that week? Well Crispy Molasses Cornflake Cookies it is then.

I measured out one cup of white sugar and then mixed in 2 tbsp of molasses until the sugar turned dark. We then proceeded with the recipe as written except that we omitted the nuts, because The Boy does not like nuts. He did a fine job of crumbling the cornflakes. He was upset that he got some shell in the eggs when he broke them over the bowl. It was no big deal, a little water on the fingertip and we did a ‘search and rescue’ mission.

The cookies were really scrumptious. I bet they would be even tastier with the nuts included. The Rice Krispies Treats were delectable. I followed the recipe from the side of the box. It’s fairly simple: melt butter, melt marshmallows, add Rice Krispies and stir, pour into buttered dish, let set. It was a bit tricky for me getting the mixture from the pot to the pan. I tried the wax paper and that was a mess, the buttered spatula didn’t help, finally I just buttered my hands and pressed down with my palms (sorry germaphobes, but I made sure The Boy and I washed our hands before commencing Operation Holiday Cookies).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If I find the time I really want to try the Christmas Biscuits from this blog post by The Sleeping Reading Beauty.

https://thesleepingreadingbeauty.wordpress.com/2016/11/18/christmas-biscuits-rehearsal/

For we need a little cookie –
Right this very minute

200

I don’t care, I believe everyone needs cookies in their lives, preferably with a cup of tea or hot cocoa. I hope you have some in yours. There are cookies for everyone – sugar-free, gluten-free, vegan – just google it and you will find something. Life should not be devoid of cookies.

I have enjoyed cookies while I was on Weight Watchers.

https://thisobscurelife.wordpress.com/2015/12/24/wellness-wednesday-enjoy/

As I discovered eating intuitively.

In my house, we’ll even eat burnt cookies. We are not picky.

https://momtheobscure.wordpress.com/2014/12/17/the-joy-of-holiday-baking-an-instructional-of-sorts/

What is missing right this very minute is my pictures on wordpress. What happened there? Well I am off to figure this out.

  • (edit: well I never figured it out, but it seems to have been a WP problem as the pictures are miraculously back)

Coming up next week: The annual Christmas Eve Fish Dinner


Crispy Molasses Cornflake Cookies

Ingredients:

•1/2 c unsalted butter, room temperature

•1 cup sugar

•2 tbsp dark molasses

•1 tsp vanilla extract

•1 whole egg

•3/4 c flour

•1/2 tsp salt

•1/4 tsp baking soda

•1 c plain cornflakes, crumbled

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F
  2. In a bowl add 2 tbsp molasses to the sugar. Mix with a fork smashing down the globs of molasses as necessary until fully integrated and sugar turns brown
  3. Beat together sugar and butter for about 3 minutes
  4. Beat in vanilla and egg, mix for about 30 seconds until combined
  5. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, salt and baking soda. Add to creamed mixture in 2-3 batches and mix until just combined for about 3 minutes. Do not overmix
  6. Stir in the crumbled cornflakes
  7. Use a spoon to drop cookie dough onto a greased cookie sheet spacing them about 2″ apart
  8. Bake 10-13 minutes
  9. Let cool
  10. Enjoy!
3 comments

Leave a Reply

