Share Your World – 2016 Week 44

More questions from Cee for this week. If you’d like to play along then click here.

What was your favorite subject in school?

I didn’t have a favorite, but English was always very easy for me.

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for two hours, what would you have them do?

Cook and serve dinner, but that will never happen because I am an obstinate Italian woman who must do everything for herself and I am uncomfortable with servants and the kind of stratified society that would support that. (wow, with that run-on sentence, who would know English was my best subject?)

Where did you live when you were in the third grade of school?  Is it the same place or town you live now?

I lived in East Elmhurst, Queens, NY and attended St. Gabriel’s school. It’s not far from LaGuardia Airport.  I no longer live there, but my dad and brother are still there in the same place and town with the same phone number.

In your opinon, list some places that are great for shopping?

I miss living in NYC. So many great places for shopping on so many different levels. Not as great as it once was in the days of Gimbels, B. Altmans and Bergdorf Goodman, and not after Giuliani cracked down on street vendors, but still good. You could walk along Sixth Ave and window shop at Saks and Lord & Taylor or buy something if you have that kind of budget. 34th Street is more moderately priced and then there are the cheap stores like Conways and Jack’s 99 cents. Astoria, Queens has small shops along Steinway Street. Flushing is great for dim sum and imported Asian goods.  My favorite store at the moment is Century 21. I was thrilled to find they opened one not too far from my dad’s place.

How many times would I miss my college classes on my way to school from work because of the lure of the store windows? Too many to count.

Another great place is the market in Florence, Italy. Wonderful leather goods and jewelery and such a beautiful backdrop.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful I got my son’s costume done on time. We had a great time at a friend’s party in Baltimore on Saturday. This week I’m just looking forward to getting it over with. Right now, my stomach is all in knots because my son insisted, against my better judgement, on having a 10th birthday party. I suggested getting a big present like an iPhone, but nope he opted for the party. His father and I told him to have it at a laser tag place and invite all his classmates and neighbors. Nope, he insisted he wanted a small gathering of kids at our house to play Fifa14 on the xbox, sandwiches from Subway and cake. Problem is he invited 3 friends from Baltimore, 4 neighbor kids and 1 kid from school. So far we have 3 no’s and no other responses. Guaranteed those kids from Baltimore aren’t driving 1.5 hours to come to his party. I’m going to have to go knock on the last two doors because we have only been here for a little less than 4 months and I don’t have emails and phone numbers. What if nobody comes to his party? One of the invitees already ditched him for another friend on Halloween – will he ditch his party too?


2 comments

Leave a Reply

