Up All Night Trying To Figure It Out and Get It Done

It’s that time of year again. Time to get into costume for Halloween. So here I am in the last minutes of Friday Night trying to finish up a costume for the boy. Did I mention that I don’t know what I’m doing? I’ve been getting ideas from Pintrest and just hoping for the best.

Sometimes, I really wish I’d just insist he pick a costume from Target and be done. But where’s the challenge in that?

Last year he wanted to be Ash Ketchum

@momtheobscure
2015 as Ash Ketchum @momtheobscure
Here is a look at some of the previous years. I blogged about creating the Green Ninja costume here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This year he wants to be Chowder. Not the soup, but the animated character from the eponymous series on Cartoon Network, which went off the air in 2010. I could not find a costume anywhere – not on eBay, not on the Cartoon Network site. I’ve never sewn more than a muslin skirt in a sewing class I took 31 years ago, but I do have a sewing machine. I also have this decorative dress form I got on sale at JoAnn’s. So I went to JoAnn’s and bought some pink and purple fleece and found a fang tooth at Party City.

img_3120

This is how it’s all progressing –

UPDATE: And this is how it looked on Halloween

One comment

Comments are closed.