Share Your World: Week 43

Another Wednesday and more answers to the questions from Share Your World this week. 
What are you really glad you did yesterday?

Hmmm, yesterday? That was Tuesday and today is Wednesday, right? Time has really been slipping through a sieve for me lately. Let me think…think…think. Well, I did cut out a pattern for my son’s halloween costume. It just may get done by Saturday. I have no clue what I’m doing. I took a sewing class at F.I.T. when I was 16 and had visions of being a Fashion Designer, but that was 31 years ago. I’ll let you know how it goes with the costume.

Would you prefer a one floor house or multiple levels?

One floor! We recently moved and I wanted a one floor apartment, but we ended up with a three level condo. Mostly I compromised because I realized my 10 year old has to become a teenager😬 I’m not sure my knees will ever forgive me – ouch!

Have you done something you truly want to do today?

I went clothes shopping, not that its much fun anymore with this middle-aged mom body, but I really needed some jeans and new boots. With the temps dropping so low, so fast – I truly wanted some new boots!

What plans did you have as a teenager that didn’t happen? Are you happy it didn’t work out that way?

@momtheobscure, John Lennon, Imagine
source: wifflegif.com

So many! All of them. I loved animals and had wanted to be a vet, but who was going to pay for vet school? (answer: no one). I wanted to be a fashion designer, but found it to be too cut-throat and I was more of an idea person then an artsy one. I had wanted to go to beauty school to learn to cut and style hair and do make up, but again who was going to pay for it? (answer: no one, not even financial aid). On John Lennon’s bidding, I imagined I could change the world. But that didn’t happen either. I was told that I was too smart and had too much potential. So, I got an office job. I enrolled at FIT, The Fashion Institute of Technology, and then transferred to the City University taking whatever courses I could afford as I worked to pay my rent and bills. I didn’t take out bank loans I couldn’t afford to pay back. Finally, at 22 I was able to get financial aid. Look at that making do, getting by and paying back my loans. (and kids today want a free pass). 

 In the end, I spent my time trying to discover what exactly that potential was and still haven’t found it. I do wish they (my parents, teachers, friends and colleagues) just let me not live up to that potential and just let me be a hair dresser in the end. Now, its just too late. Yes it is. I’m not going to be standing on my feet all day, raising my arms constantly, dropping scissors with my arthritis and such.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I am grateful for e-books. I have been downloading them for free from the library and listening as I eat lunch. I am looking forward to my son’s birthday tomorrow and all the halloween festivities coming up, even though halloween and dress up is not really my thing.

One comment

Leave a Reply

