Foodie Friday: In which I try Blue Apron

Just before we moved, over the July 4th weekend, a neighbor invited us over. She knew we were packing up, tired and needed to eat. Thank gods for people like her. She offered to send me a trial for Blue Apron which she had been using for several weeks. I took her up on her offer.

I had looked into Blue Apron quite sometime ago, but rejected the idea worried about the waste of all that packaging. I knew this neighbor was more conscientious than I when it came to the environment and ecology, so I decided it couldn’t be so bad. Indeed, they state that they have a direct relationship with the farmers and they are partnered with the Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch.

I waited to sign up until after we moved. There was still the matter of that electric stove. I still don’t trust it, but even after blowing a fuse, it works all but for one burner. I’m still not sure about my Le Creuset pots. I did some research, and intend to replace the oven with an induction one in the near future. I just can’t get a handle on how to regulate the heat on that thing.

So I signed up for a Blue Apron account online: a family plan with 2 meals for 4 people delivered on Sunday. We are three: myself, my husband and my almost 10-year-old son. This first trial week was free due to my friend’s referral. There is also a phone app that makes it even easier to manage your account.

The package arrived as promised on my doorstep before 9pm on a very hot and humid Sunday.

IMG_2706

The two meals were

  1. Spiced Pork Tacos with Crema, Pickled Onion and Elote-Style Corn
  2. Spicy Hoisin Chicken & Rice Cakes

Each meal included, as well as the ingredients, a description with a suggested wine pairing and instructions with pictures.

IMG_2707

Everything came packaged in either plastic baggies, bottles, or paper bag on ice packs in a cold bubble wrap liner.  It’s more wasteful than the Farmers market, but not much more so than the grocery store. According to the Blue Apron website everything is recyclable and if not then you can box it all up and send it back to them for recycling. IMG_2708

We chose to try the Spicy Hoisin Chicken & Rice Cakes first. Mr. Obscure chopped all the ingredients as instructed.

 

It was six simple steps: 1. prepare the ingredients 2. brown the chicken (does an electric oven brown anything?) 3. Cook the veggies 4. Cook the rice cakes 5. Finish the chicken and rice cakes 6. plate your dish.

The only negative about it was my son didn’t care for it. He didn’t eat much besides the chicken pieces and that left us with a lot leftover. The meal was fine, rice cakes are among my favorite; it’s not unusual for the boy to not eat much other than junk food and meat.

Overall, I was pleased with the experience. I signed up for a 2-person/3 meals per week account at $60. It seems a little expensive – but you should see what we spend at the Farmer’s Market. I don’t mind paying a little extra for the convenience of having it shipped to my door and the meals planned for me. My ADDled brain can’t handle putting a menu together and I like a challenge. I’m hoping the 2-person deal will be enough food. Up until a certain date I can go in and change my account, meal preferences or even skip the delivery. I can choose a vegetarian option or which meats or seafood I would like in my meals, although the actual meals are planned and put together by Blue Apron.

Tonight my husband is making the tacos. As I am typing, I can hear the boy reading him the directions. This just keeps getting better.


*This is a total independent review, believe me no one even knows I exist, I live and blog in obscurity.

Blue Apron

The Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch Program

 

One comment

Comments are closed.