Wellness Wednesdays: Move On Over

It’s been two weeks and a lot has and has not happened. We have successfully moved from the state of Maryland to the state of Virginia.

286px-Map_of_USA_VA.svg.png
giphy.gif
giphy.com

What has happened:

The electric stove blew a fuse during the walk through. Our Real Estate Agent, thankfully, had quick reflexes. So my worries about that electric stove were valid. It’s been a week since we moved and I have been out and walking about. That’s right: Car Free. I am on a Car Free Diet. I am loving it. I have walked the trails behind my house, I walked to the movies, the post office, restaurants, the library. Today my son and I walked to his new elementary school. There was a steep incline and we were huffing and puffing. He said we should take the car but, nope, I said, we will practice so that by September it will be an easy walk to school. I told him about how when I was training for the marathon I would run up and down a hill like that 4-6 times in a row. He thought that was crazy. I felt inspired by the memory.

alive.gif
reactiongifs.com

What has not happened:

I haven’t used the stove. It’s been a bit overwhelming. We didn’t have internet for a few days, even though I was promised hotspots by Xfinity (but didn’t get). I haven’t been blogging because of the sketchy internet, the unpacking, and a short camping trip squeezed in between it all. I haven’t been waking up early and exercising. I haven’t been to a Weight Watchers meeting in weeks, and maybe I won’t go back.

giphy.gif
giphy.com

I’ve been busy unpacking all of our possessions. So far nothing is broken and the only thing missing is our Pottery Barn Fireplace screen (we did get the tools). I am finally seeing the light beyond all the boxes. We just have too much stuff!

tupper.gif

We have downsized from a single-family house to a townhouse. Not everything fits, but that’s ok. I am learning to let go and declutter my life as I mentioned here and here. And although it is a bit overwhelming now and I am in a fog with my sleeping schedule, eating too much and exercising too little, I know it will all unfold well in the end.

giphy-1.gif
http://www.gifbay.com

What Will Happen*:

My goals now are to unpack the boxes and minimize my stuff, build a capsule wardrobe that fits in one closet, start running and exercising consistently, bike and walk more and drive minimally.

*Don’t hold me to it, best of intentions and all, but you all know I have an ADDled brain, right?

giphy-1


image of US map with state of Virginia highlighted from Huebi – Modified from image:Map of USA with state names.svg

edited by The Boy who should be sleeping

One comment

Leave a Reply

