Wellness Wednesday: I Just Can’t This Week

I just can’t this week. I can’t gather my thoughts into complete sentences. I’m shocked, I’m outraged.

giphy.gif

This weekend in Orlando Christina Grimmie, a 22-year old singer from The Voice, was shot and killed by a man. A gunman killed 49 people and wounded 53 more in an attack at the Pulse nightclub in Orlando, Fla., early Sunday in what is being called the “deadliest mass shooting in US history.

Why does this keep happening, I think. But hasn’t it always.

This country has been populated by a bunch of crazed vigilantes from the getgo. No disrespect for our founding fathers, whom I admire greatly, but the general populace is not sterling. We killed off mostly an entire population of native people with small pox and then proceeded to marginalize them and take their land. It was our Manifest Destiny to take what we wanted and shape it into our preconceived notions. This is a nation that gave rise to the KKK.

Lynching in America… just typing those words is giving me heartburn. What an ugly, ugly period of our history. If you feel threatened by anything, or just angry, kill the offender.  Instill fear and keep them in their place through terrorist acts. Now it seems that not only is human life not valued, but one’s own life isn’t as well. Mass shootings occur on the regular at random locations throughout the country. Each time we are shocked, we mourn, we change our facebook profile page, we debate gun control and the second amendment. We raise questions about mental health. Until it all dies down and then it happens again and we repeat the cycle.

I’ve been thinking about it and sickened by it and wondered what can we do? Why is this happening? Is it because we have become so disconnected from one another? Is it because when there is social progress there will always be a violent pushback against it?

I don’t know. I need to think. And chocolate, lots of chocolate.


Michelle Marchildon, The Yogi Muse, says it so much better in this post:

http://www.michellemarchildon.com/when-a-shooting-leaves-us-speechless/


image from giphy.com

