Foodie Friday: I’m Just Winging It

So here it is. It’s Friday. Already? Time for another blog post about cooking. Really? I’m not ready for this. Did I mention I’m in the middle of moving to another state and downsizing? Yeah, well I am. And it doesn’t leave much room for cooking, blogging nor creativity.

So, tonight I am just winging it. And I don’t care because this blog post from The Hedgeblog was so eye-opening and I am done with scheduling my life. Ok, well I’ll still have a roughed out to-do list, because my ADDled brain forgets. But I’m not going to kill myself or feel ashamed about not getting to it anymore. Hell, I’m just doing the best I can.

So tonight, I looked at what I had: ground pork, an opened can of coconut milk which I tried to substitute for real milk, but YUCK!, a half of a big tomato, fettuccine and some spices. I could work with this.

First, I put on a pot of water to boil with a pinch of salt. Then I browned the pork in some ghee. Then I added salt, garlic, and ground black pepper, In went the coconut milk and a little of this spice and a little of that. I think I threw in fennel, salt, turmeric, basil, mint, asafoetida. Then I cut up the tomato and throw that in.

IMG_2545

I allow the meat to simmer. In the meantime, when the water comes to a rapid boil, I add the fettuccine and stir. Stirring is important so the pasta doesn’t stick together. I wait for the water to return to a boil. This is kinda sorta fresh pasta, as fresh as you can get from the supermarket. So I stir and let it boil for one minute. Then I drain, reserving one cup of the pasta water, and place in a serving bowl and toss with olive oil to prevent sticking.

I throw in the cup of pasta water, and then the spinach into the meat mixture and stir until wilted. I then toss the pasta and meat sauce together and serve.

IMG_2549

And dinner is done!

The boy gave a thumbs up to the meat sauce and a thumb down to the fettuccine. He claims he doesn’t like pasta. Where does this kid come from?

IMG_2551

 

 

