Wellness Wednesday: Jump From the Ledge

I have always harbored a dream of being a writer. It began when I was nine, my son’s age. It was never encouraged. I needed a real job and it was true. I did. I had to work to pay for college, to pay the rent, to eat, to have health insurance.

giphy

Then I married and then I became a SAHM. When my son started school I thought this was the time for me. For the last three years or so I have been trying to push myself towards that end. But lately, I’ve been realizing it’s all smoke and mirrors and I haven’t done much at all except for this blog. Then I read the linked article below and felt a flicker of courage. I need to work on the confidence, discipline and business skills. I took an online writing class in December, but I really think I need a business class. This is especially hard for an introverted, socially awkward ADDled-minded person such as myself.

giphy-1

Part of my wellness journey is learning to love me, to accept myself and to advocate for myself. At the moment, I am just full of hot air.

I really needed to read this as I am contemplating giving up before I have even really begun in earnest. Is it time to jump from the ledge and fly, or climb back into the room I came from?


images courtesy of giphy.com

You Want to Make a Living as a Writer? Are You Crazy?

If you have a passion for writing and have non-creatives in your life, you have probably heard some form of this mantra for years:

No one can make a living writing; find something practical to pursue. 

What’s ‘practical’? What makes sense if your passion is for words? Fitting the square peg into a round hole never works, does it?

 

It helps to be a little crazy when pursuing something many people can’t relate to. But if you want to make a living as a writer, there are a few skills that can help you succeed.

  • Passion for words – I believe you need to have a yearning to learn about words, to want to play with words, to strive to get sentences just write, to want to share part of yourself through written expression. You want to make an impression on your audience in some manner.
  • Confidence – Believe in yourself and in your passion to write. Take pride in every piece of writing you create; in every story your muse delivers to you. Every new piece of writing is more experience that helps you grow, expand, and refine your skill.
  • Discipline – this is such a big deal! You absolutely have to be able to set a schedule and stick to it! Writing only when you’re in the mood will not help you make a living as a writer at all. Take writing seriously – get your butt in a chair and your hands over the keyboard – and write! Daily!
  • Training/Education – Take some writing classes (online or in person), practice writing and submitting to contests that offer feedback, join a critique group. Practice different types of writing to discover what you enjoy most – also learn about what pays well — you want to make a living as a writer! (this helps build your confidence and discipline too)
  • Marketing – as a solopreneur writer, you have to not only create, but you have to advertise – let people know you have the talent, time, and ability to deliver on their writing needs. Marketing takes time, isn’t easy, but is absolutely required in order to make a living as a writer. If people and businesses don’t know you exist, the money will not come.

To make a living as a writer, you must have business skills. There isn’t any way around it — other than hiring someone to manage the business side of the writing life — but even then, you want to have an understanding of all that is involved.

The writing life isn’t something to jump into – take the time to honestly assess your skills, passion, and interest in words.

If it’s truly what you want – go for it! Being a little scared and unsure is natural – it means you’re pushing yourself out of your comfort zone, and there’s never anything wrong with that. Ever. (in my humble opinion)

Do you have what it takes to make a living as a writer?

Lisa_2015Lisa J. Jackson is an independent writer and editor who enjoys working with businesses of all sizes. She loves researching topics, interviewing experts, and helping companies tell their stories. You can connect with her on TwitterFacebook, and LinkedIn.

 

Leave a Reply

