Foodie Friday: Rice Cooker Kitchari

Since the house is on the market I haven’t been cooking much. I planned to do this Spring Cleanse. I know I swore I was never going to do a cleanse, it wasn’t necessary, I just got dizzy. I looked into an ayurvedic cleanse, and according to books and websites like lifespa.com you shouldn’t put stress on your body and should eat three light meals. So I was going to eat kitchari for three days, but didn’t want to mess up the kitchen.

I thought what if I made it in the rice cooker. That would be ideal, and I could keep it warm for the whole day. I did a quick google search and found this on Lisa Snowden’s blog. It was possible!

The first day I followed her recipe using Japanese brown rice. It came out to fluffy and not soupy enough.

IMG_2195

The next day I tried with 1/2 cup basmati rice and 1 cup yellow split peas. I first dry roasted 2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp coriander, fennel, 1 tsp turmeric, cumin, garlic and onion powder and then added the washed rice and split peas. I put the cooker on the porridge setting. After it was done I stirred in cilantro. This version was quite tasty and just the right consistency, but the peas were a little underdone.

For the third try, I did the same as the second day, but put the cooker on the white rice setting. The consistency was the same as the first day and not soupy at all.

IMG_2196 2

I will have to give this some more thought and experimenting. The more I can cook in my rice cooker the easier my life will be. And “If I can do it with ease, I’m pleased.”

And can you believe how empty my counters are? I hate it.

IMG_2188 2

