Wellness Wednesday: It’s a Headache

Yes, I’m aware (barely) that it’s Thursday and that this late posting happens often (as if any one notices). Things have been rough this week. I’ve had a headache since Monday. I went for a short run on Monday, sometimes that helps. I ran 12 minute sprints. It was all I could do. It didn’t help. Tuesday the pain was behind my right eye and excruciating. Wednesday I cancelled a lunch date and steamed with olbas oil. I thought I might have a sinus infection. My sinuses are throbbing and I feel congested behind my nose. It hurts when I do the Neti Pot. Yet, I am not expelling any mucus.
This morning I tried to do yoga. I couldn’t, because my head hurt too much. I steamed again, put some nasya oil up my nostrils, massaged my face and neck and took a loooooong hot shower. Then I rested for a half hour before having to go pick up my son at school. I haven’t eaten, although I’m hungry, because I feel nauseous and not up to preparing something.

As I was walking to the school, I thought: who takes care of you when you’re sick? I’m not an invalid, but I could use some help. I was in the middle of decluttering when this headache hit and I had just pulled EVERYTHING out of the closets. My home is a wreck – just like my head.

I can’t expect my 9-year old to help me and my husband is pretty useless. The topic at weight watchers this week was support. And it hit me why I am still a member even though I don’t follow their program or believe in dieting anymore – I need the support.

Headaches have been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. They have gotten in my way of doing things and achieving things. So much of my time has been spent lying down in a quiet room wishing I could just smash my head open and end it. My mother worried. She sent me to doctors who told me to take aspirin, even after I told them that just led to a headache and a stomachache (thank the powers that be for enteric coating and gel capsules). My father had no compassion and would just tell me that HE NEVER had a headache in his life. Yeah – really helpful. Other doctors told me it was stress or put me on barbiturates. Anything that helped was only short term. They always come back to haunt me.

Always. Tomorrow is a new day full of hope. Maybe the excedrin will kick in.


featured image: By Sasha Wolf [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

