Foodie Friday: Southern Style

This week we were in Charleston, SC: a foodie heaven. Here are some photos of what we ate –

Dinner at Page’s Okra Grille on Sullivan’s Island

Hush Puppies

 

Vegetable Crab Soup (similar to Maryland Crab soup)

 

cucumber mojito

fried okra, french fries, more hush puppies served with Salmon

 

blackened grouper with grits and asparagus

 

Mahi Mahi taco salad

We visited the Charleston Tea Plantation (a division of Bigelow) where we took a trolley tour and sampled tea. Not the best, but the only tea plantation in North America. 

After several days of the convenient but boring  breakfast at the hotel Embassy  Suites, formerly the citadel, we went to breakfast at Lost Dog Cafe on Folly Beach. We were so hungry I forgot to snap pictures, although I thought I had. I had the best international eggs benedict:

canadian bacon, fried green tomatoes and two poached eggs over an english muffin and topped with buttery hollandaise served with fresh fruit. I washed it all down with Charleston Tea Plantation Earl Gray with cream. I went wild and did NOT ask for the sauce on the side.

On the drive home we stopped at Schulers Barbecue, somewhere in South Carolina. It was a $10 buffet.

pulled pork, beans, butternut squash, mac and cheese, cole slaw

 

The boy enjoying chocolate and strawberry ice cream

 

banana pudding with nilla wafers and peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream

 

custard and the only thing we didn’t care for: cream with strawberry jello?

 

I didn’t get a picture of the fried pork chop at Shulers, but five hours later, Mr. Obscure was mentioning it as we drove into Virginia and speculating on how we can make it ourselves at home.  I’m not sure where we can source a thin chop with bone and fat on it. Most everything in the grocery stores by us is lean cut.

I also had the best pizza since leaving NYC five years ago at Monza on King Street in Downtown Charleston.

I have to admit that before this trip I wasn’t a big fan of Southern cuisine. I was pleasantly surprised how light everything was – even the fried food. I ate a fried pork chop for lunch today and didn’t get dizzy. I usually do and tend to stay away from fried food and won’t eat French fries in the summer.

We are still driving home as I type up this blog post. I’m hoping I can get to bed early enough to wake up for my Saturday morning run tomorrow.

Wishing you all happy eating.

One comment

Comments are closed.