Wellness Wednesday: Uh-Oh

So…

I finally went to the eye doctor last Friday. I had been putting it off long enough, so I just walked over to the nearest eye place — MyEyeDr

I asked the optometrist about these little sacs that popped up on my eyes a few months ago.

  
She said it was usually a sign of high cholesterol, high triglycerides and I should check with my primary care physician. What the what now?

This raises a couple of issues:

  1. I’ve never had high cholesterol before
  2. I don’t have a primary care physician

Of course I googled it.

Xanthoma    

Xanthoma is a skin condition in which certain fats build up under the surface of the skin.

Causes

Xanthomas are common, especially among older adults and people with high blood lipids.

Xanthomas vary in size. Some are very small. Others are bigger than 3 inches in diameter. They appear anywhere on the body. But, they are most often seen on the elbows, joints, tendons, knees, hands, feet, or buttocks.

Xanthomas may be a sign of a medical condition that involves an increase in blood lipids. Such conditions include:

Xanthelasma palpebra is a common type of xanthoma that appears on the eyelids. It may occur without any underlying medical condition and may not be linked with a high cholesterol or lipid level.

Yeah, so my Primary Care Physician left when the group went under new management, then the doctor I started seeing after she left, left. See a pattern? I need to find me a doctor and get my cholesterol checked. And probably stop eating the red meat I started eating again last year. Supposedly, my hypothyroidism is under control with the Synthroid 125 mg I’m taking. I’m really, really doubting that more and more.

