Foodie Friday: Biscuits

img_1525
Lobster tail, melted butter, sauteed mushrooms, brussel sprouts and a biscuit

I decided to make lobster tail for the boy. My husband was away and what’s the point of taking the time and effort to cook if the boy is just not going to eat it?  He keeps salivating over the lobster tails and they just happened to be on sale at The Fresh Market.

At the last minute I thought about those biscuits from Red Lobster’s. I found this recipe on the internet at The Slow Roasted Italian. It promised me biscuits in 20 minutes, what could be better?  – Er… having cheddar cheese on hand to make said Copycat Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits?

Ok, so that was a no go. I made the Savory Scallion Biscuits from Moosewood Restaurant Cooks at Home (The Moosewood Collective, Simon & Schuster, p.58). I left out the scallions and added parmesan cheese.

The boy even helped!


The boy snapped this picture of me when I wasn’t camera ready, but when am I ever?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They came out a bit dry, probably because the boy wanted to cut out the dough rather than cut it into eight wedges. I don’t think you’re supposed to overwork the dough. Oh well, we had fun doing it.

If you have a quick and tasty biscuit recipe, please let me know! Any tips and techniques are welcome in the comments.

Leave a Reply

