Foodie Friday: Heavy Cream

I’m feeling grouchy and hungry with this blizzard keeping me indoors. So I go to the store to stockup.

I like to buy heavy cream to make whipped cream and/or ice cream. It’s becoming harder and harder to find it without additives. I mean shouldn’t the ingredients just be cream?

Here are the listed ingredients from Organic Valley’s website: Cream, Carrageenan and it’s Ultra Pasteurized. (it seems that there is a 16z pasteurized one without additives, but this is not available in my area).

Screen Shot 2016-01-22 at 6.54.40 PM.png

I’m not even talking about health. I just want my cream to be cream is that too much to ask?

I was told to go to Trader Joe’s. Nope, that has carrageenan too.

I sort of think I’m going crazy, because I swear I went to a local market and got Heavy Cream that was natural, but now it has additives? Is the grocery store gaslighting me?

Another reason to hate winter. I can’t wait for the Farmer’s Market to be open again in the spring.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

