Wellness Wednesday: A Week of Lunches

It has been said that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. I covered that subject previously here. Lunch, however, is my biggest meal of the day. Following the guidelines at LifeSpa.com, as well as my Italian roots, I have switched up dinner and lunch. Lunch is now my main meal. You can read more about the benefits of eating earlier here.

This week I did not do a very good job of taking pictures of my lunch. It’s been a tough week and I admit to caving into cravings here and there. Having a sweet at breakfast, and having lunch as my main meal has been keeping cravings and snacking at bay. This week however, I found it hard to get into the kitchen and get my meal done by 1 pm lunch time. This means I was eating lunch around 2-3 pm and getting hungry! If I stick to a schedule then there is no need to snack. Otherwise, I can eat a bigger breakfast to hold me until 3:00.

Last week’s weight: 154.2

This week’s weight: 153

-1.2 lbs.

IMG_1023
My husband makes the octopus uuvetsi. It is my favorite dish.
IMG_1025
Romanesque is a new vegetable introduced to me at the farmer’s market. I will miss it now that the market is over for the season. It is like broccoli with a cauliflower texture and so easy to prepare. Just cut stems and boil for 2-5 minutes.
IMG_1028
I made the tripe with a recipe from Marcella Hazan. I loved tripe as a child, but did not care for this!

IMG_1031

Saturday 11/21: Lunch with a friend at One World Cafe

  • Deluxe Nachos: white corn chips smothered with cheddar/jack, topped with tomatoes, onions, lettuce and black olives. Served with salsa and sour cream.
  • Vegetarian Chili: loaded with organic brown rice, vegetables, beans, herbs and spices
  • Carrot, beet, apple juice

Sunday 11/22

  • 2 slices of pizza one cheese, one deluxe
  • Orange
  • 2 fun-sized chocolate
  • water

Monday 11/23: Lunch at Falafel House

  • Falafel with Tahini and Harissa
  • Hummus
  • Rice
  • pickles
  • shredded red cabbage
  • pickles
  • tea with tsp of sugar

IMG_1060

IMG_1061
Guilty! I finished off some leftover frosting as I cooked a late lunch. That’s right I ate it out of the tub with a spoon. It happens sometimes.

Even with the occasional snack attack I managed to lose a pound. I am trying to not obsess with the numbers on the scale. I want to be able to fit into my clothes and feel good. My main focus is developing an eating and wellness regimen to have enough energy to get through the day!

5 comments

  1. I can’t tell the last time I saw tripe. Octopus UuVetsi is new to me; I’ve never heard of it. it looks like red beans and rice. Keep it up.

Comments are closed.