Soups On!

 

IMG_0888

In my kitchen I have been cooking:

  • Chicken soup
  • Lentil soup
  • Spinach soup
  • Radish Greens soup
This is why I don't belong in the kitchen. I dropped a knife. You can see the blood on my big toe.
This is why I don’t belong in the kitchen. I dropped a knife. You can see the blood on my big toe.

Since I started following John Douillard’s 3-Season Diet on lifespa.com, I have been eating mostly soups for supper.  Since making Granma’s Chicken soup, I’ve gotten bold and just make the soup intuitively now. Each week I buy a 3 lb. organic chicken from MOM’s grocery store. I then boil it in a pot with several vegetables and herbs. When it is done I strain out the broth and shred the chicken to add back into the soup. I also make some egg noodle on the side for the boy, so he can have Chicken Noodle Soup.

The chicken in the pot with vegetables and herbs
The chicken in the pot with vegetables and herbs
chicken broth in mason jars and ready for another night's dinner
chicken broth in mason jars and ready for another night’s dinner

I also made lentil soup from Weight Watcher’s Cooking Italian cookbook. It was ok, but I found it a bit too bland. I still have to try making Marcella Hazan’s version of lentil soup. I am really glad my dad gave me her book. It was a great choice. I’m not sure if he knew it would be, or if he just gave it to me. He is not one who really needs a cookbook. I am. As for the book, I love how her recipes guide you through everything, such as what size pot to use, this is what I need more than glossy photos and jargon and obscure ingredients. I wonder if my dad understood that or it was just luck. Only thing is, being from Emilia-Romagna she uses a lot of milk in her recipes which my parents never did.

I did make the Spinach Soup on page 89 from Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking. I used fresh spinach from the Farmer’s Market and homemade vegetable broth rather than the Homemade Meat Broth that was called for. This recipe also called for 2 cups of milk and with the added parmigiano-reggiano cheese it reminded me of the Spinach Gnocchi soup my Mom used to make on holidays. Again, I would rather not have the milk and butter and could have left it out. However, my husband was very pleased and enjoyed it. The boy ate a turkey sandwich, but he enjoyed both the lentil and chicken soup.

This week, I thought I picked up beets at the farmer’s market, but I was wrong. They were radishes. I accidentally boiled them. I looked over to the bright and lovely green leafy tops on the chopping board and remembered I used to make a soup with them. After searching for the recipe I couldn’t find it. Googling it on the internet all the recipes called for milk and potato, which I didn’t remember. So I winged this one:

IMG_0972
Gorgeous green radish leaves chopped
IMG_0973
sautéed in olive oil with garlic and shallots

 

IMG_0974
after cooking in the pot, blended in batches
IMG_0976
done and jarred

 

Next up, I’m going to try my hand at breads. Yes, I am feeling brave.

One comment

Leave a Reply

