Oprah Chai Tea Misto


I was worried when Starbucks first bought out Teavana, the loose tea retailer found in malls. On second thought I figured maybe it would improve the tea options at Starbucks.

I am not a coffee drinker. I never much frequented Starbucks before I became a stay-at-home mother. After a mommy-and-me group meeting, one of the moms invited me to come to Starbucks with a group of moms. Thus began some good friendships and my relationship with starbucks.

Since buying out Teavana, Starbucks introduced a chocolate chai which I loved. It was my weekly indulgence when I met the girls over coffee. When the Oprah Chai debuted the chocolate chai began coming with whipped cream. The barista tried to convince me it was always so. It was not. Then one day, it was simply gone. I tried the Oprah chai and I did not like it. It was weak, spicy, perhaps vanilla and cardamom? but more of a steamer than a chai.
It is now being marketed as Oprah’s Cinnamon Chai tea latte. Today, I asked if they could hold the sweetener in the Classic Chai tea latte. I was told it could not because it was a concentrate and was offered the Oprah chai. I explained I didnt like the Oprah Chai because it was too weak. The barista offered to add extra pumps and hold the sweetener and if I didnt like it, he would make me something else.
I tried it, I didn’t like it. There just isn’t any tea embodiment to it. It’s steamed water, most likely fatfree milk, some kind of artificial sweetener and an overpowering cinnamon taste which must be synthetic. I wont ask for something else as my tastebuds need to recover. Well, at least a part of my purchase will benfit youth education.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

