India and Italy

This post covers the chapters on India and Italy from Sundays at Moosewood.

IMG_1927 I had eggplant from the CSA so I decided to make Eggplant, Red Pepper and Spinach Curry for the main dish. As recommended, I served it with Spicy Chick Peas and Tomato-Apricot Chutney. I didn’t have chickpeas in a can, so I quick-soaked them in the pressure cooker. I also had blueberries from the CSA, so these I smashed up and placed in a glass and poured in Vodka. Yum! At 7pm, when dinner should-be  done, but  wasn’t the husband went down to a neighbor’s house to pick up the boy. I hear him yelling at him as they come in. Pour more vodka.

Vodka and fresh blueberries
Vodka and fresh blueberries

Yelling in the other room, “Do It Now!” Pour more Vodka. I go and tell my son to go to his room. Why? Because your father told you too! Pour more vodka. Pour one for the husband too. Know what would be helpful? One of those fridges with the water and crushed ice in the door. Although, it does relieve some tension to put the ice in a kitchen rag and smash it against the counter. After all the screaming and crying subsided, we called our son down to the table and actually had ourselves a nice dinner.

IMG_1918

I haven’t posted in a while. Maybe it’s time to put it to bed. I’m considering it. I haven’t been doing much writing lately either. I’ve been very ADD these days. I run around in circles like the white rabbit, muttering “I’m late…” There is so much to do. I get tired just thinking about it. If I try to relax on my couch, there’s that chipping ceiling looming over me.

chop in ceiling
chip in ceiling

My to-do list is a mile long. Well, it’s just a bunch of sticky notes, but things keep getting added rather than taken away.

to-do-list
to-do-list

My kitchen looks like this!

my kitchen
my kitchen

It starts off ok in the morning. It’s a dumping ground during the day. By the time I’m done clearing everything off, it’s too late to make the eggplant sandwiches. I do have to feed my family however. So, I make the pasta: Ziti with Chard. I don’t have ziti, but I do have rigatoni.  They’re both round tubular pasta, good to go. The chard has cooked down – A LOT! No worries. Some olive oil, fresh chopped tomato and we have a nice summer pasta. A quick, nice green salad and it’s supper. But, no, wait. Where’s the protein? I know moosewood’s is vegetarian, but the boy needs protein and I don’t have any beans on hand. So, I pull some frozen Trader Joe’s meatballs from the freezer. I put them in a pot with some beef broth. While they cook I have the family head outside to bag the weeds for tomorrow’s pick up. We come back in, in about 20 minutes. I grate some cheese over the pasta, pour some wine and we have dinner.

italian
italian

The next night, I had planned to make the eggplant and serve it with the leftover pasta, and a cucumber and tomato salad, fruit and ricotta salata. I wanted to do a real Italian dinner with the different plates: antipasto, primo, secondo and dolce. I was thinking about it all day. I had some chicken breasts I should make. They had been in the fridge for a while. Then my husband calls. “It’s a nice night,” he says, “where should I take you to dinner?” I remind him about the pasta, tell him of the meal I was planning. “It can wait another day,” he tells me and begins listing possible restaurants. This is why I married him folks! And dinner is done.

