Summer Rerun

I’m still on vacation. Well, not technically. I am back home with a Himalayan-sized pile of laundry and a bored 6 1/2- year old on my hands.

I thought I’d take this time to go back to where it all began. If you have been following me, you know the kitchen is not my favorite place. This first post grew out of my pleas for help from friends on Facebook, who then in turn asked me to tell them how it all went. I decided to post it on my blog momtheobscure.wordpress.com . From there I went on to a weekly post of my trials and tribulations in the kitchen. I kept going because it made me think of at least one meal a week I would cook! It then branched off into its own blog and I lost most of my followers. I hope they and new friends will find their way here. I also write a bit and that is over on the other blog.  – Happy Summer!

http://momtheobscure.wordpress.com/2013/01/17/cooking-at-home-with-ms-m/

It’s Tuesday night. I found some green plantains in the grocery store yesterday. I want to make mofongo. I can’t remember how or find my old recipe. My husband usually comes home hungry around 6:15. Is that the time? I should have started an hour ago!

image

1. Ignore the clutter. It’s always there. Do a google search for “healthy mofongo recipes” on the laptop. I don’t want to fry the plantain, which is traditional. Fried food upsets my tummy and frying makes a mess.

image

2. Choose a beverage of choice: wine or beer. For this recipe I chose beer. No, it’s not an ingredient it’s for me to drink while cooking.

image

3. Slice the green plantains. Fortunately, tonight I didn’t slice any fingers. Hey, it happens – to me – a lot. I used 2 plantains and that was more than enough to feed 2 adults and one small child who refused to eat any because “it looks like puke” kids, huh? God love ‘em. Someone has to.

image

4. Place in a pot and cover with chicken broth. Add smashed garlic. Bring to a boil and let simmer.

image

5. While it simmers, rummage through the fridge for a substitute for chicharon/pork rind. I found some spanish-style salami I bought at Trader Joe’s. I chopped it up and cooked it up in a frying pan until crispy.

image

6. I decided to add shrimp. Cooked and defrosted from Trader Joes. That was easy.

image

7. Even though the shrimp was pre-cooked, it was cold and bland. I tossed it around in the pan with some chili oil and garlic salt for 1-2 minutes. I didn’t have the time nor all the ingredients to make sofrito.

image

8. This is what the plantains look like after simmering for about an hour. Test with a fork they should be soft but not mushy. I removed with a slotted spoon to another bowl because I wasnt going to mash it in my Le Crueset pot.

image

9. Mash the boiled plantains, garlic and chicharron-substitute together. Add salt to taste. This would be easier in a food processor, if you owned one.

image

10. If your arms are tired from step 9, enlist your son to crush up 2 cloves of garlic with 1 tbsp of oil. I know, I boiled 2 cloves of garlic with the plantains already, but hey I love garlic. Add the garlic and oil mixture to the mofongo.

image

11. Almost done. Recruit your husband to make a salad. This dish goes well with a crisp green salad, especially one you don’t have to make yourself.

image

12. Finished! You can mold into shape by putting in a small bowl and overturning onto a plate or just use your hands. Make an indentation in the middle and place in shrimp. Drizzle with the gravy left in the pot you boiled the plantains in. Wow, I can’t believe that worked out and dinner was on the table by 7:05. Now if I only had a big head and a tight sweater I could maybe get on TLC.

Share this:

2 comments

  1. This looks great! Lucky for me, we’ve enlisted our daughter (at $10/hour) to plan and cook supper for the past week or so. It’s almost like being on vacation. And she cooks better than me.

    Hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

