Amish Friendship Bread

The other day, a friend of mine passed along some Amish Friendship Bread starter dough in a ziploc bag. My friend blogs at Mommy Has a Headache. If you’re looking for a laugh head on over to her blog, she is one funny lady.

I have heard of sourdough starter but not Amish Friendship Bread. She emailed me a link to the Friendship Bread Kitchen where I discovered:

The starter is a sourdough starter, a yeast-based starter with a lactobacillus culture. Because there’s so much sugar in most Amish Friendship Bread recipes, the result is sweet, rather than sour, but if you have a discriminating palate you may be able to pick up a tangy twist. Like most sourdough starters, Amish Friendship Bread can literally be passed around indefinitely; in fact, the longer its been around, the better.

Oh, what the hell I thought. I’ve tried sourdough starter before without much success. Let’s try this. Well, the first day my husband tried to throw it away. The next day he insisted in pouring it out into a glass jar.

I woke up Sunday morning ready to bake some bread! I made myself a hot cup of water with lemon and honey to rev myself up. Kitty was thirsty too. Look at my sink, it’s not usually full of dirty dishes until late afternoon.

I planned to take the bread to a Brunch Barbecue later that day. I followed the directions and poured the starter into a nonmetal bowl. I added flour, sugar and milk  I stirred it up, but it seemed kind of lumpy. There were no directions as to how to mix it all together, so I just went ahead to the next step. I measured out equal portions into 4 gallon-sized ziploc bags.

I went ahead with the recipe for the bread. I added another cup of sugar and was thinking I should run down to Walgreens and buy myself a glucose meter after breakfast. I added the optional raisins and then  decided to throw in some cut up banana.

20130526_074222 20130526_080351 20130526_082647

After doing all this, I realized I don’t really have bread loaf pans. I found one smallish loaf pan and a car mini-cake pan. I poured the batter into this. I put the car-cake pan into the preheated 325 degrees oven and put the loaf pan in the toaster oven. I haven’t had much luck baking with my new shiny expensive oven, so I thought I’d try the toaster oven.

I then started on the scones. The recipe was in Parade magazine for Mother’s day. It took me awhile to get all the ingredients. It was hard to keep my family from eating all the strawberries.

ingredients for the strawberry scones
ingredients for the strawberry scones
20130526_073431
recipe for Strawberry Scones from Parade magazine
20130526_084232-1
Butter from South Mountain Creamery

I really enjoyed crumbling the butter into the flour with my fingers. I must be a tactile learner or something. About the butter, I don’t usually have butter in the fridge and I picked some up at the farmer’s market on Saturday morning. Ok, this butter was amazing! I now understand what my friends at college in New Mexico were saying when they said they missed real butter. This may have been the first time in my life I have had real butter – and it was good!

Here are the results:

20130526_093642
scones on the left, bread on the right
20130526_094015
Unfortunately, the bread did not make it out of the pan in one piece.
20130526_090852
These are the mini car cakes which overcooked a bit in the oven

My family and I ate salvaged bits of the Amish Friendship Bread. It was actually pretty tasty.  A bit sugary, but the bananas were a nice addition. I took the scones with me to the barbecue.

3 comments

  1. Aaah! sorry it stuck to the pan. Did you grease the pan? Yes that Amish starter is a tricky devil. I made a pizza dough from it and it went all hard but when I made cupcakes they were yummy.

Leave a Reply

